FIRST TRIMESTER.

It was a half hour before my parents arrived for a weekend visit when I decided to take the pregnancy test. You know, *just in case*, since I knew I would be enjoying a sizable amount of adult beverages while they were here. I never say no to a glass of wine! I did my thing in the bathroom without any nerves unlike normal, because honestly, I was quite sure I wasn’t pregnant. (I good reminder that all it takes is one time..) I waited as the little hour glass icon flashed for a few minutes and then knelt down to view it. OMG, where is the “NOT” that I was used to seeing before the word PREGNANT? It wasn’t there…

pregnant!

Smiling and shaking equally, I ran downstairs to yell for Cory. I told him I needed to talk to him (with the positive test hidden behind my back). Finally he came across the yard to see what was up. When I showed him, I teared up, but that quickly subsided when his response was “What are you going to do!??!”. I’m not going to let him live that one down! In his defense, he only said that because he knew my parents were almost to our house, not because he wasn’t thrilled! We hugged and smiled and then got to work in the kitchen, dumping out regular beers and pouring in the non-alcoholic beers we happened to have in the house. It was SO hard not to tell my parents the minute they pulled up! Instead, I sipped my fake beers and pretended like all was normal. The next morning, Cory dumped out a bottle of vodka and replaced it with water so I could enjoy some “vodka+tonics” later that day. After four of those and not a single personality change, it was hard not to wonder if people would notice! I had them all fooled. My little trickery went on for a month. I had to use my creative brain to come up with some of the stuff I did, but no one ever caught on so I did well!

Throughout the month, I would occasionally do a pregnancy test just to make sure the little bambino was still there. 🙂

All in all, I think I had a pretty mild first trimester. There were a few weeks where I had zero energy and it was all I could do to lay on the couch and sleep. Cory and I would be out running errands and I’d have to ask him to go in alone because my body just couldn’t make it. I would sleep for 10 hours at night and then sleep off and on all day. After feeling guilty for awhile, I decided I had every right to be that way — I was growing a human being inside me! And since I was in between jobs, I took advantage of it and told myself there would likely not be another time in my life that I would have the opportunity to sleep so much!

I was also pretty nauseous during those few weeks and regularly snacked on saltine crackers (who knew a saltine could be so delicious!). My diet did a complete 180º. My usual breakfast of a homemade egg McMuffin+coffee suddenly sounded disgusting and our healthy dinners that consisted of something on the grill (salmon or chicken etc), a vegetable, and sweet potatoes, was appalling and about sent me over the edge. Even thinking about salmon had me gagging (still does!). My breakfast of choice now is cereal (something I hadn’t eaten in years, really) and a glass of orange juice (something we rarely would have in the house before pregnancy) and all I ever want for dinner is carbs — pasta, bread, soup, and any other comfort food you can think of. And don’t even get me started on ice cream. I am quite sure there was a a streak of eating ice cream for 10 days straight. And it’s still happening. Cory just laughs at me now when I turn to him and say “Can we go to DQ? I really want a chocolate shake”.

Last week I decided it was enough and I had to set a goal — I’d only eat ice cream two times per week. Fail. I didn’t even reach my goal the first week! I convinced myself it can be justified with a couple things:

1. I am no longer consuming empty calories from wine or any other alcoholic beverage.

2. I am advised to eat an extra 300 calories per day.

3. I’m pregnant and should eat ice cream if that is one of the only things that is satisfying. My baby likes it, I can’t help it!

I haven’t had any weird cravings yet (like pickle+peanut butter sandwiches), however there has been days where I want something specific… Pickles. Subway sandwich (which my husband, ever so kindly, picked up for me and even had them heat up for meat for 45 seconds!). Salted Nut Roll (yes this actually happened, and I bought it at Menards!). Cupcakes with frosting. But mostly just ice cream. 🙂
2 thoughts on “FIRST TRIMESTER.

  1. You’re done with your first trimester already, Sis?! That was fast! The next two are going to fly by, too 🙂 And, I think it’s totally ok that you’re eating ice cream… eat some for me!

    Great post… I didn’t realize you found out right before M+D arrived!

Leave a Reply

