WEEK 16.

Instead of documenting my ever-growing baby bump by taking photos in the same tight tank top by the same old boring wall, I decided to keep track week-by-week based on places I bring my little baby koch. He/She has already experienced some pretty cool things, I must say, but I’ll start with where I am now — 16 weeks:

Baby Koch does Vino in the Valley | 16 weeks

As each day passes, I realize my belly protrudes a little bit more and is harder and harder to suck in. I’m still in the stage of feeling like I need to suck in since I mostly just look like the ice cream I’ve been eating is catching up to me. 🙂

thoughts: Is this real life? I cannot believe in less than four weeks, I will be half way through this pregnancy! I’m eager to see what those four weeks do to me because apparently this baby is going through a growth spurt, growing in inches and doubling his/her weight! I have a feeling I won’t be trying to suck in my belly much longer.

how i’m feeling: Great! The nausea has fully subsided for the most part and I’m not nearly as tired as I was the first trimester. The second trimester has definitely been better, just like they said it would. I still occasionally have a day where I’m more tired than normal, but that’s to be expected. Now, to get back into that workout routine that was lost in the first trimester…

crazy things pregnancy hormones have made me do: My second/last appointment had to be rescheduled due to my doctor being called to a delivery. I was in my car, on my way to the long awaited appointment and SO excited to hear the heartbeat again. When I got the phone call from the clinic, my heart sank, and I couldn’t stop the tears. I was just so sad! I think I actually sobbed for a few minutes before pulling myself together and realized I had something to look forward to the next week instead.

Then, the other day, while tree shopping, we went inside to find someone with expertise on trees. There were two little punks working behind the counter who wouldn’t even make eye contact with us and another older man who rattled off a bunch of names of workers and why they were busy at the time. Horrible customer service. Without a second thought, I said “Oh, that’s ok, we’ll just GOOGLE it!” and walked out. Cory said he couldn’t stop cracking up when I left and was even kind of proud of me. 🙂

Ummm, I now like pepperoni pizza. In fact, the last few times I’ve had pizza, I choose pepperoni, which is so weird because I used to hate pepperoni!! You know what’s really good… pepperoni pizza with a glass of chocolate milk! Is that gross?

up next: 20 week appointment+ultrasound!! This is definitely the appointment I am most excited for. Half-way point, ultrasound to see our baby including his/her fingers and toes, AND finding out if it’s a girl or boy!! It’s so amazing to me that whether it’s a boy or girl is already determined but right now it’s just a mystery to all of us.

I’m also anxiously waiting to be able to feel him/her move (“quickening”). It should be any day now within the next four weeks and is sure to be one of the most amazing feelings to date!

boy or girl?: All along, I’ve had a feeling it’s a girl. But I sorta think that is because I have always felt like I want my first baby to be a girl and I just picture myself with one. But the other night, while with some friends, I did a bunch of those silly gender tests and they all said boy. I repeated one until it was girl and then I was done. 🙂 Of course, I will be happy as a clam with either a boy or girl, and hope and pray more than anything that he/she is healthy [with beautiful blue eyes like daddy]. 😉

What else has baby koch been up to…?

12 weeks:

Baby Koch goes to Coldplay | 12 weeks

This was very important to me because I LOVE Coldplay and also because I strongly dislike Cory’s go-to music playlist (to give him a little credit, he does like Coldplay too). I tell him that now our baby is sure to have great taste in music (like mama!) because his/her first concert was Coldplay! None of this Nickelback or Shinedown crap. 🙂

I missed a few weeks of documenting the bump, but don’t plan on letting it happen again.

15 weeks:

Baby Koch takes on the MN State Fair crowds | 15 weeks

I actually went to the fair twice this year! We enjoyed cheese curds, corn on the cob (a must!), cookies, pizza, fresh squeezed lemonade, a strawberry shake, and pizza (throughout the two days). We also made sure to steer clear of the swine barn! Gross. Crossing fingers I don’t get sick at all during this pregnancy!

Coming up for Baby Koch in week 17 — Chicago!

One thought on “WEEK 16.

  1. Excellent idea, Sis! Way more exciting that documenting the boring ol’ way with the same shirt + background.

    Hehe… I love that you told them you’d just go home to google it! Did it work and someone finally helped you?

    Pepperoni pizza is a funny craving, but I will admit, that pepperoni pizza you ate at the state fair was pretty delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

