WEEK 17.

We started off week 17 with a bang — a long weekend trip to Chicago for the Anytime Fitness annual conference. Celebrating 10 years of business, there was no shortage of excitement. I am thanking this baby in my belly for existing so I couldn’t partake in the alcohol consumption because if I had, I’m not sure I would have made it through the weekend — late nights & early mornings. No hangover = awesome! Here’s a little glimpse of the weekend:

Baby Koch in Chicago | 17 weeks

One of the things I wanted to make sure to do while in Chicago was visit the tallest building in the US — The Willis Tower (formerly known as the Sears Tower). At the 103rd floors lives the Skydeck, a small clear, enclosed deck that jets out of the side of the building at 1,729 feet. Stepping out is nothing short of terrifying and dizzying when you can see the city of Chicago, including all it’s skyscrapers, underneath your feet. As the girl in front of me was repeating “it’s mind over matter, it’s mind over matter” as she practically crawled out for a quick photo. The $17 was worth it for the view and experience, even if I was only up there for 15 minutes.

Baby Koch on the Skydeck | Willis Tower | Chicago

A panoramic view from 1,729 feet…

Chicago Panoramic from 1,729 feet.

And no trip to Chicago is complete without a stop at the “bean”…

On Friday night there was an 80s Party on the Pier with a live concert performance by Hairball. If I could have plugged Baby Koch’s ears, I would have, because it was LOUD. Poor baby probably didn’t know what was going on!

Hairball | 80s Party on the Pier

Another must while visiting Chicago — PIZZA. And was it ever amazing, just as anticipated!

Giordano’s Pizza.

It truly was a fantastic+exciting+inspirational+eye-opening+exhausting weekend! Other thoughts about Week 17…

appetite: It’s coming around! I had eggs this morning for breakfast (something that made me gag just thinking about them during the first trimester). I am also loving my morning cup of coffee again (my love for it had disappeared the entire first trimester as well). I’m still not having any weird cravings (other than pepperoni pizza+chocolate milk!). Last night I thought popcorn sounded good but the craving wasn’t strong enough to make me get my exhausted butt off the couch to look in the cupboard for any. 🙂

I’m finding myself hungry (growling-stomach-famished-feeling-hungry) all the time. But I still seem to get full pretty easily too.

things i’ve noticed: My baby bump is definitely growing. When I lay flat on my back and feel it, there is a rounded hard bulge. Sounds weird (and is kinda weird to actually type out) but it’s so cool and very exciting for me!

I’m also noticing that I am extra emotional. I tear up and have been crying at the thought of my sis moving away (a possibility if she gets a particular job). I can’t imagine life with her four hours away and it makes my heart hurt to think of not being able to grow old near each other or our kids not growing up together. 😦 I also got all choked up while watching the Member Success Story videos at the conference over the weekend, especially the parts with dogs in the video! Dogs are just the best creatures ever!! They love their owners unconditionally and don’t judge anyone. They can truly teach all of us a lesson on love and acceptance.

I’m already noticing changes in my breathing when I bend over or have to roll up the cuffs of my jeans. I can only imagine what it’s going to be like when I get bigger!

I’m sleeping [like a baby] lately. Typically I would get up a couple times a night to go to the bathroom, but I haven’t been since we got our Tempurpedic bed! That thing is the bomb. I swear I don’t move all night. I’m already looking forward to crawling into it tonight. 🙂

weight gained: About 5 pounds.

other thoughts: Maternity jeans are annoying. I have one pair and as cute as they are, the elastic band is super annoying! Maybe it’s because I’m not big enough yet. I’ll update you once the bump is bigger!

Two weeks from tomorrow cannot come soon enough. The ever-awaited ultrasound to find out if it’s a girl or boy! (and hoping+praying+crossing fingers to get positive reports on the growth and health of the baby over all)  I’m dying to go shopping and finalize our cute name!!! 🙂 Sorry, I won’t be sharing the name until the arrival of the bambino though. You’ll have to wait until February!

I always find it kind of funny when people find out I’m pregnant and instead of congratulating me, ask me if I’m happy about it and if it was planned. I’ll take it as a compliment because maybe they ask that because they think I am younger than what I am (big 3-0 in November, people!!) and maybe they don’t realize I am married. But it’s always nice to tell them that, why yes, I am very happy and we want to have a baby!

Coming up in week 18 — A weekend trip to the flatlands of North Dakota! (I’m sure it will totally beat last weekend’s trip to Chicago…) 🙂

2 thoughts on “WEEK 17.

  1. Oh, Sis. It breaks my heart reading this (not kidding, I started bawling the first time I read it). It’s not a done deal, so please don’t worry! Even if I do move away, it wouldn’t be forever! We WILL grow old near each other and our kids WILL grow up together! I cannot imagine anything differently 🙂 xoxo!

    Seriously?! People ask you if you’re happy about being pregnant?! Lame. Obviously you’re happy about it. Duh.

    We need to take a long weekend trip to Chicago!

    • I sure hope so, Sis! I would be really sad if my kids didn’t have their first cousins to grow up with. 😦 But probably more sad to not have my only sister living close to me..

      A long weekend trip to Chicago would be fun fun fun! We need to make one of these trips happen instead of just talking about it (which is easy to do). 🙂

Leave a Reply

