HAPPINESS.

What do you choose?

Are you happy today? It’s so easy to get caught up in the petty things in life that make us step into our grumpy pants… hello, uncooperative hair days, spilled coffee, or getting caught behind a slow driver. Or things that seem bigger, like thinking we don’t make enough money to “live life to the fullest”. But think about it.. Do you have a place you call home, a roof over your head, a loving spouse and/or family, and a car that gets you from point A to point B? How often do you take those things for granted? What if you couldn’t actually drive your car because you don’t have arms? What if you couldn’t walk to your car because you don’t have legs?

Over the weekend, I was fortunate enough to meet the over-the-moon-inspiring, Allison Wetherbee. By a stroke of bad luck, she was born without arms and legs. As one of the Anytime Fitness Member Success Story winners, she was interviewed by one of my colleagues who shared something she said that I will never forget. He asked her if there was ever a time in her life that she felt sorry for herself. She said in her early 20s she went through a phase when she did until she looked around and thought about all her friends and how some of them were really unhappy. It was in that moment when she realized that if they were unhappy, then the key to happiness must not be having arms and legs! From then on, she chose to be happy. Happy because she was living, happy because she had a loving family and great friends. She said she could either choose to feel sorry for herself every day or make a life for herself. And that is exactly what she is doing. This kick-ass woman goes to the gym and works out every day (So, what’s your excuse?? I’m asking myself the same thing!). She’s lost 12 pounds. She blogs! She’s making a life for herself and choosing happiness. How’s that for inspiring! We all have the power to choose and be grateful+happy for the things we were blessed with in life and not dwell on the things we don’t have by letting them make us unhappy every day.

Here’s Allison’s story.. (Is it just me or is the part where her dog comes in and gives her kisses not the sweetest thing ever!? Seriously, dogs are freaking awesome.)

 

My happiness list today:

1. My husband who makes my world go round.

2. Snuggle-muffin (It’s slightly embarrassing that I really call her this) Lucy in the morning.

3. Watching the sunrise from the shower.

4. Feeling twitches in my lower abdomen—hello Baby Koch!

5. Reading inspiring blogs + a cup  of coffee to start my day.

7. Tonight’s dinner menu: homemade spaghetti.

8. A walk in the cool fall air with my cousin-friend, Rachel. (+Lucy)

9. Mailing my amazing dad a birthday card (Happy Birthday tomorrow, Dad!).

10. Booking 17 photo shoots between now and October 21!

What’s making you happy today??

2 thoughts on “HAPPINESS.

  1. Allison is incredible + an inspiration! Wow.

    Are you bringing snuggle-muffin to Cable?! Hope so!

    LOVE that Baby Koch is kickin’! I can’t wait to feel your belly 🙂

    What’s making me happy today: roasted buttercup squash, crisp autumn air, my family, possibilities just ahead, reading inspiring blogs while drinking a cup of peppermint tea 🙂

    • I know, isn’t she amazing!

      Sadly, snuggle-muffin has to stay home (I don’t think dogs are allowed at the place). 😦

      Feeling the baby move is so cool!! It not only makes everything that much more real, but also gives me such a connection to him/her! It’s the highlight of my day when it happens (off and on all day!). 🙂 I’m not sure it can be felt from the outside yet but soon enough it will be!

      Your happiness-makers today sound lovely! I need to get my hands on some buttercup squash.. !

Leave a Reply

