WEEK 19.

This was a big-huge-fantastic-exciting-and-special week for us for many reasons. Nineteen weeks marks one week short of officially being half way through my pregnancy. Wha?? I can hardly believe it! Typically, 20 weeks is the exciting time which consists of the long-awaited 20-week ultrasound appointment. We lucked out and got to do our appointment a week early. I couldn’t WAIT to see Baby Koch again, hoping+wishing+praying to be told everything was right on track and looking good. It is. Thoughts of what-ifs consumed my mind quite often for the last few weeks, causing unnecessary anxiety and worry (story of my life), and a handful of dreams about our baby’s health.

The ultrasound tech was fantastic. She talked us through each and every thing, taking measurements and pointing out some things we’d never recognize on the screen ourselves. We saw the four chambers of the heart, the spine, brain, bladder, kidneys, little hands and feet, and one adorable little face (see a new ultrasound photo under my “Meet Baby Koch” tab). The baby had the hiccups while we were watching too, which seems so minute, but was oh-so-amazing. 🙂 This whole baby-growing thing is incredible!

So, what is our Little Baby Koch…

girl or boy!?

We knew we wanted to find out but couldn’t decide how. I thought for sure I wanted to have the doctor put it in an envelope and we’d open it over dinner together or we’d wait until we cut into a cake, revealing pink or blue to family and friends. Since we hadn’t made a solid decision, our curiosity got the best of us and we found out then and there at the clinic! For three days, Cory and I (oh, and Lucy!) get to have our little secret until Friday when we tell our family and friends. So, what will it be.. a girl or a boy!?

If it’s a boy, Cory decided he gets to buy a vintage motorcycle he can fix up for a “winter project” in the garage (what is it with men!? lol). I thought it was only fair for me to have something in my favor too, so decided that if it’s a girl, I get a Michelle watch. 🙂 Sounds fair, right?

Another milestone of Week 19: Feeling the baby kick from the outside! After I felt it with my hand, I told Cory to feel as well. When we felt it at the same time, we looked at each other, wide-eyed in amazement! Every night now, I take time to lay down and just feel him/her move. I can’t get enough of it!

I suppose I can’t do my weekly post without the baby bump photo. Early this week we were in beautiful Northern Wisconsin taking in the breathtaking fall colors that don’t even compare to anything I’ve ever seen before. We hiked to a lookout point for an incredible view of all the colorful trees… (although the instagrammed photo doesn’t quite do it justice!)

Baby Koch in Northern Wisconsin | 19 Weeks

I’ve decided the leopard-print scarf is the trademark of my pregnancy… pretty sure I’ve worn it in almost every one of my bump photos! Best impulse purchase ever.

Check back next week for the big reveal!

2 thoughts on “WEEK 19.

Leave a Reply

