WEEK 23.

I’m approximately 166 days into my pregnancy! This also means that in one month I will reach the 3rd trimester. Sometimes I feel like I’ll just be pregnant forever but then snap back into reality and remember that before I know it, this little human is going to be in my arms and not in my belly! Now that it’s officially November (my birthday month!), the next few months are going to fly by. A little over three months to soak up what is left of life as I know it. It’s sometimes hard to grasp just how different (in a good way!) the rest of life is going to be once our baby girl arrives, but I couldn’t be more excited!

23 WEEKS!

A few thoughts on Week 23…

Favorite things:

For the last week, my new ritual and favorite thing ever, is when I first crawl into bed, to lay there and watch my stomach move. Sometimes it moves in a huge, yet quick, morphing way (as if this baby girl has completely switched positions), and other times it’s just small little kicks. But each time it’s truly amazing! She is definitely most active at night when I am laying flat on my back (perhaps that is just when I notice it the most though). I’ve also been starting to notice it in the morning too. I love it and can’t get enough.

Speaking of bed. I am in love with our bed! Not too long ago, after talking about it for at least a year, we finally purchased a Tempurpedic Cloud Luxe bed. Best thing ever. I can sleep flat on my back or on my left side all night long, sinking into it’s marshmallow softness.

Sweets. I don’t know what my problem is, but I can’t seem to get enough of them either (although I do limit myself at a certain point!). Every day, I want to start out with sweetness, weather it’s my own coffee+creamer or making a stop at Starbucks, and every night, I want to end it with something sweet… a cupcake, ice cream, halloween candy, hot chocolate. When I look at my Recipe board on Pinterest, it’s all sweet, baked goods! Why do I enjoy baking so much more than cooking?

What the Doctor Says:

I love having appointments! It went great. I’m measuring accurately with my due date and also heard the heartbeat again. Baby K had the hiccups (again!) when we were listening to the heartbeat, which seemed concerning before knowing it was the hiccups, but then was just super cute. πŸ™‚ My next appointment: Glucose test!

Interesting Experience:

We went to my brother-in-laws hypnosis show last Friday and I decided to completely go outside my comfort zone by volunteering to be hypnotized (with about 20 others). I was super nervous, partially because I was in front of a group of people (not a fan) and partially because being hypnotized freaks me out (1. Doing weird things in front of people without knowing it. 2. My mind/actions being taken over by someone else.) Well, the beginning stages of hypnosis were working. He had everyone close their eyes as he was talking, convincing us to fall into a state of total relaxation. As time went on, he told us he was going to count down from five, and then wanted us to test our eyelids but not until we knew they wouldn’t work. To make a long story short, when I “tested” my eyelids, I could NOT open them. It was kinda creepy. I remember thinking that I could totally open them if I wanted to, but at the same time, they would not open. It was like they were fused shut. While all of this is happening, I’m fully aware of how fast and hard my heart was beating and all I could think about was that it must not be healthy for the baby for my heart to be racing so fast. I ended up snapping out of any type of hypnotic stage I was in and took a seat in the audience to enjoy the show. And, it was hilarious. I’m still boggled as to how hypnosis works and find it really fascinating, yet creepy.

Current Outfit I LOVE:

Some of you are probably thinking, “You’re going to dress your baby in THAT??”. Why yes, I am totally going to be the mom who mismatches my baby’s outfits. I love putting fun colors and patterns together without being too matchy-matchy, yet still coordinating in a non-traditional way. And, I’m really excited about putting her leggings/pants UNDER the shirt/top instead of hiking them up every five seconds like I would have to if the pants were on the outside.

Things I Miss:

β€’ Fitting into clothes I have been able to fit into for years. (It’s a weird feeling to finally realize I am just bigger all over than I ever have been.)

β€’ Enjoying a glass of wine. (It has been super easy, and kind of rejuvenating, not to drink alcohol, but I really love having a glass of red wine in the evening and that is missed at times.)

β€’ Bending over without a problem. I know this will only get harder..

β€’ Laying on my stomach. Oh, how I want to do this so badly sometimes!!

β€’ Sushi. California rolls can only satisfy a person’s sushi craving for so long. I’ve been a good sport about it though and watched Cory devour my favorite rolls right in front of me quite a few times since I’ve been pregnant. πŸ™‚

 

34 Days until Day 200! πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “WEEK 23.

  1. I am 100% convinced that you crave sweets when pregnant with girls. I LOVED sweets when pregenant with Ensley and I normally would much rather have salty over sweet.
    You look adorable, Ami! Baby K is going to be a fashionista just like her momma! πŸ™‚

    • I agree. The never-ending sweet cravings have to be from this baby girl!! πŸ™‚ Did you still want sweets long after she was born too? I’m afraid that will happen to me.. (but I normally do like anything sweet so I’m probably doomed either way)!

      Thanks for reading the blog and for your comments, Kayla!!

  2. I think I will start putting Myla’s leggings UNDER her onesie now! Looking good, little mama! P.S. the glucose test is not as bad as women say. πŸ™‚ Love ya!

  3. πŸ™‚ Let me know if you like the leggings underneath. I saw on someone else’s blog years ago that they did that and ever since, I have wanted to do it with my own baby someday! My doctor said the glucose test isn’t all that bad either so I’m glad to hear it from you too. xoxo!

  4. Love your blog!! My sweet tooth, unfortunetly, remained after Ensley was born. However, it is not as strong as it was during pregnancy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

